Top-class touring car racing.

%{cur} of %{total}


BMW Motorsport wins eight titles in five years.

Since returning to the DTM in 2012, BMW has won at least one title every year. The title treble in its first season back was followed by the Manufacturer title 2013. The BMW M4 DTM made its debut in 2014, with BMW winning both the Driver and Team competitions. In 2015, BMW won its third Manufacturers Championship in four years. In 2016, Marco Wittmann added a second Drivers‘ title to the one he won in 2014. Since 2012, eight of the 15 titles up for grabs have gone to Munich.

Image %{cur} of %{total}

BMW’s return to the DTM after an absence of 20 years ended with a bang in 2012. The manufacturer clinched a hat-trick of titles at the season finale in Hockenheim. Bruno Spengler won the race in his BMW Bank M3 DTM to secure the Drivers’ crown. At the same time, BMW Team Schnitzer won the Team competition and BMW Motorsport triumphed in the Manufacturers’ Championship. 2013 saw BMW Motorsport expand its DTM commitment, with eight BMW M3 DTMs rather than six cars. BMW Team MTEK and its drivers Marco Wittmann and Timo Glock joined the squad. The second season after BMW’s comeback ended with the defense of the Manufacturers’ title.

From 2014, BMW Motorsport lines up with the new BMW M4 DTM in the popular series. Two new drivers also joined the fold: Maxime Martin and António Félix da Costa. However, it was Marco Wittmann who stepped into the limelight this season: The BMW Team RMG driver wrapped up the title in the Drivers’ Championship in the eighth round of the ten-race season at the Lausitzring. Including all the manufacturers, he was the third-youngest DTM champion of all time. This was also the first time since 2000 and the “new” era for the DTM that a driver had been crowned champion in only his second year in the series. Only Bernd Schneider, back in 2001, had previously managed to wrap up the title three races before the end of the season.

In winning the title, Wittmann continued a special tradition: whenever BMW has appeared in the DTM with a new model, the title in the Drivers’ Championship has ultimately gone to Munich at the end of the season. After Volker Strycek’s success with the BMW 635 CSi in 1984, Eric van de Poele repeated the feat with the BMW M3 in 1987, and Bruno Spengler continued the tradition with the BMW M3 DTM in 2012. Wittmann has ensured that the first year of the new BMW M4 DTM will also go down as a golden debut season. At the end of the season BMW Team RMG had won the Team title.

BMW Motorsport once again lined up with eight BMW M4 DTMs in 2015. The squad of drivers remained virtually unchanged. DTM rookie Tom Blomqvist was the only newcomer. The 2015 season had extra racing action in store for DTM fans. For the first time since 2000, two races were held on each weekend – one on the Saturday and one on the Sunday. After a difficult season, all eight BMW drivers produced an impressive team performance in an exciting finale in Hockenheim. They won the Manufacturers Championship by seven points in the final race.

Marco Wittmann was the man to beat again in 2016. In his first year in the Red Bull BMW M4 DTM, the 26-year-old won three races and was crowned DTM champion for the second time after a thrilling finale at the Hockenheimring. Wittmann became the first BMW driver ever to win two Drivers‘ titles in the DTM - and in only his fourth year in the series. In total, BMW won four races - all courtesy of BMW Team RMG - and claimed 16 podium finishes. BMW Team RMG and BMW Team RBM finished second and third in the Team Championship. Martin Tomczyk and António Félix da Costa called time on their DTM careers at the end of the season. However, both drivers remain part of the BMW family.

BMW Motorsport will be represented by two teams and six drivers in the 2017 DTM season. The race car will be the new BMW M4 DTM, which is currently completing a comprehensive test and development programme in preparation for the 18 races. Six BMW works drivers with plenty of DTM experience will be behind the wheel. Reigning DTM champion Marco Wittmann heads the selection. Tom Blomqvist, Augusto Farfus, Timo Glock, Maxime Martin and Bruno Spengler will be battling for points and wins alongside him. The six BMW drivers have racked up a total of 399 DTM starts, recording 32 wins and 34 pole positions. BMW Motorsport can boast two DTM champions in its ranks: Spengler (2012) and Wittmann (2014 and 2016). The three BMW M4 DTMs of Wittmann, Glock and Farfus will be fielded by BMW Team RMG, headed by Stefan Reinhold. Bart Mampaey and his BMW Team RBM will be responsible for the cars of Blomqvist, Martin and Spengler.

We will rock you: the BMW Motorsport trailer for the 2016 DTM season
We will rock you: the BMW Motorsport trailer for the 2016 DTM season